Code of Professional Standards

All registrants must meet professional standards in two areas:

1. Cancer awareness and safeguarding of patients

AND one of:

2. Cancer exercise, or

3. Psychosocial oncology, or

4. Be registered with the GMC or NMC

Read more about the specific standards for each area by clicking on the relevant link

We measure competency using the Novice to Expert framework as defined by Storey, Howard and Gillies, based on earlier work by Benner and Dreyfus and Dreyfus.

Level 0

This does not form a part of the current or future role of the practitioner

Level 1- Foundation

The practitioner would contribute to care delivery whilst under the direct supervision of others more proficient in this competency. (This level of attainment may apply to the practitioner gaining experience and developing skills and knowledge in the competency)

Level 2- Intermediate

The practitioner can demonstrate acceptable performance in the competency and has coped with enough real situations in the workplace to require less supervision and guidance, but they are not expected to demonstrate full competence or practice autonomously.

Level 3- Proficient

A practitioner who consistently applies the competency standard. The practitioner demonstrates competence through the skills and ability to practice safely and effectively without the need for direct supervision. (The Proficient Practitioner may practice autonomously, and supervise others, within a restricted range of competences.

Level 4- Advanced

The Advanced Practitioner is autonomous and reflexive, perceives situations as wholes, delivers care safely and accurately and is aware of current best practice. Advanced Practitioners understand a situation as a whole because they perceive it’s meaning in terms of long-term goals. (The Advanced Practitioner is likely to be leading a team; delivering and supervising care delivery, evaluating the effectiveness of care being delivered and may also contribute to the education and training of others)

Level 5- Expert

The Expert Practitioner is able to demonstrate a deeper understanding of the situation and contributes to the development and dissemination of knowledge through the teaching and development of others. The Expert Practitioner is likely to have their own caseload and provide advice, guidance and leadership to other professionals involved in the delivery or provision of health and social care.


©2017 Copyright Register of Cancer Survivorship Professionals. All right reserved.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.